DIVINE Roasted shrimp, tomato and feta bake


Ok, so i’m not a huge shrimp fan, but this dish was AWESOME!!  I didn’t invent it, but I did tweak it a little bit, and it was so good, it was one of those meals that when I ate it, there was NOTHING I would have changed about it!  ( I don’t know if that’s EvEr happened to me!)   It actually was a surprisingly quick meal too!  I started cooking at 4:30 thinking it’d take an hour to make dinner since it was a new recipe for me, but I was done by 5:00!  Its great, healthy, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!  Here’s the recipe:

Serves 6      Hands-on Time: 15m     Total Time: 40m

Ingredients

  • 5 large tomatoes, cut into eighths (I used about 6 roma tomatoes, larger size, cut into quarters or eights, depending on its size).
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds medium shrimp, peeled and deveined.  (I used small shrimp to avoid shrimpy texture, personal preference.)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 cup Feta, crumbled  (I used one 4-oz package of Feta and sprinkled with a handful of Italian blend shredded cheese after it had baked)
  • crusty bread, for serving

Directions

1. Heat oven to 450° F. Place the tomatoes in a large baking dish (I used a square 8×8 dish) and spoon the olive oil and garlic over them.

2. Sprinkle with ¾ teaspoon each salt and pepper and toss. (I was fairly generous with the salt since tomatoes absorb salt to much)  Roast on top rack of oven for 20 minutes.

*While those baked, I sauteed the shrimp stove-top in 2 TBS olive oil, 2 TBS butter (toward the end), about 1/3 cup chopped onions and 2 TBS minced garlic.  Get the garlic and onions nice and seared to the point of becoming transparent-ish, then throw in the thawed shrimp. (I bought mine frozen).  At one point, the juices were starting to pool in the pan from the shrimp, so I drained the extra juices into the sink, and kept sautee’ing.  I wanted my shrimp browned, not soggy.  I did this till the shrimp were beautifully browned and flavored.  Sprinkle lightly with salt if desired.

3. Remove baking dish from oven and stir in the shrimp, parsley, and lemon juice. Sprinkle with the Feta.

4. Return the dish to oven until the shrimp are cooked through, 10 to 15 minutes.  (I just did it for 10 min, enough to toast the cheese since the shrimp were already cooked.  When I removed the dish, I then sprinkled a generous handful of Italian blend shredded cheese over it to melt and add more cheesy yumm-ness!) Serve warm with the bread.

SERVE WITH:

I made garlic french bread to go with it, and served it over Whole Wheat angel hair pasta that I spiced up with a little olive oil, dry italian blend herbs (a cheap blend I got at the dollar store!), a touch of salt and 1 or 2 TBS of paremesan cheese.  That made the pasta have a great neutralized flavor to go with the slightly tart/zing of the tomato, lemon and salt in the dish.   I also made microwaveable broccoli and cheese for a veggie on the side.  The meal was AWESOME!  And my husband Loved it!  So, good luck and enjoy!!

Health perks from this meal:

-Use of olive oil is a great plant-based fat that keeps you heart healthy, and even targets the burning of belly-fat (per the Flat Belly Diet– which I’ve done and loved how healthy and effective it was!).

-Whole grain pasta is a wonderful alternative to typical processed pastas and doesn’t cost but a few pennies more (and is more sustaining!)

-Using white cheeses (like most italian cheeses, feta and mozzarella) helps keep things more natural.  The colored cheeses are almost always dyed and a little higher in fat.

-Fresh tomatoes!!  Tomatoes are a huge health food!  They have so many great vitamins and antioxidents that help to prevent cancer and other health problems.  And, tomatoes are one of the few foods where their health benefits INCREASE as they are cooked!  Bring on the tomatoes!

This is a meal that will leave you feeling satisfied, but not bloated.  You will feel GOOD after you eat this meal (as I distinctly noticed when I ate it the other night… and I even had two full servings!)  Eat guilt free, save on prep time,  save on your ingredients list, and save on your waistline.  That’s a win-win to me!

Leave a Reply

