Strawberry, pineapple, vanilla smoothie!


My sons love to drink smoothies (as do I!), which is a healthy, easy, quick way to get them satisfied without having to rack my brain for a new idea!  So, a few minutes ago my middle son asked me for a “pink smoothie!” (he had tried a coffee chocolate one earlier this morning and didn’t care for it) so I looked through my freezer to see what I had on hand.  I threw it together, and it was sooooo yum, I thought I’d share the recipe! Enjoy!!

 

4 oz frozen pineapple juice (I save the juices  from when I open a can of pineapple and freeze them in small little 4 oz containers for smoothies, or whatever else I would find pineapple juice good for.  Not pineapple that’s canned in syrup, but only the stuff canned in 100% juice.  If you don’t have anything like this, which is likely, you can use a few ice cubes and double the frozen fruit, or incorporate frozen pineapple so you don’t lose the pineapple flavoring.)

-About 1/4 cup frozen strawberries. (here pictured, is a strawberry, mango, papaya mix.  I picked out the strawberries so it would be “pink”, as requested. 😉 )

-About 8 oz milk.  Use whatever you have, but I prefer to use my Smart Balance Lactose Free milk b/c its a little sweet, almost no fat per serving, and has more protein than regular milk too.

-about 1/4 cup Fat free vanilla yogurt.  I always keep this stuff on hand for smoothies, for dessert, and for baking.  Its awesome!

-If you want to sweeten it, use very little sugar, I used Stevia sweetener.  It doesn’t take much but a couple light sprinkles when you’re using Stevia!

-Lastly, this really enhances the flavor, throw in about 1 1/2 tsp to 1 TBS sugar free powdered vanilla coffee creamer!  Sounds weird, but boy does it amp up the flavor!  And if its sugar free, you’re cutting back on calories and sugar too.

Now, because I used the frozen juice, along with frozen fruit, the consistency was very thick, and with the milk to cream it up, it was nearly like pineapple strawberry ice-cream/milk shake.  My son sucked it down so fast!  The trick to making a smoothie healthier is simply to find healthier alternatives to more fattening items (like the yogurt, milk, or sugar).   This was the final outcome!

Sorry its not a better picture, or a fuller glass!  Levi sucked his smoothie down so fast, this was what Mommy got to enjoy and all I managed to snap a picture of. 🙂  Its very similar to a strawberry milkshake.  The cup is a little fogged from sitting in my freezer while I took pics of the ingredients… I didn’t want it to lose that awesome consistency!

 

Health Stats:

8 oz Smart balance milk: approx 110 calories, 0 fat, 10 grams protein

1/4 cup lowfat yogurt: 48 calories, 0 fat, 2.5 grams protein

1/2 cup pineapple juice: not exactly sure, say 45 calories, 0 fat, 0 protein, but natural sugars!

1/4 cup fruit: 15 calories, no fat, no protein

Stevia: no calories, no fat, no protein

French Vanilla flavor: 1 TBS: 30 calories, 2.5 g fat, 0 protein.

TOTAL: 12 oz smoothie: 248 calories, 2.5 g fat, 12.5 grams protein.  What a great snack!!

Other alterations: for more of a health boost, you could swap out the french vanilla flavoring for a splash of vanilla extract and cut out that fat, as well as, add a scoop of Vanilla protein powder to amp up your protein intake!

Leave a Reply

