Healthy Homemade Cornbread mix


If I had a dollar for every time one of my kids complained about something I set out for a meal on the table, well, I’d be in Tahiti living it up.  🙂 So, when I decided to make cornbread a main dish for dinner for them tonight, and heard cheers all around, I knew this was something I needed to add to my “staples” in the kitchen… and somehow leave Jiffy’s crippling ways out of it.  (Don’t get me wrong, I love Jiffy, but I am so crippled when I don’t have some in the cabinet!)  So, I went on the hunt for cornbread mix I could make in bulk at home to have on hand.  This was harder than I thought since every recipe called for some sort of unhealthy lard-like substance.  Then I found this one, here, and decided to share it with all of you, with  a fun picture to make it all the more appealing.  🙂  I hope you enjoy the convenience and health of your own homemade cornbread mix!

Cornbread from Scratch

Homemade Cornbread Mix

¾ cup cornmeal
¾ cup all purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt

Mix all ingredients together. Store if needed.

When ready to use, mix in a separate bowl:

1 egg
¾ cup skim milk
2 tablespoons vegetable or Canola (healthier) oil

Add the wet ingredients to the cornmeal mix and stir until just incorporated.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Cook for 20-25 minutes if using a 8×8 baking dish, or 15-20 minutes for muffins, removing the muffins or bread from the oven when the center is no longer jiggly and the edges are slightly browned.

Serves 6

TIP: I like to also add, OR substitute applesauce for the oil.  Try it both ways, see how you like it.  For extra moist and less crumbly, use Canola oil AND applesauce.  I usually throw in about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of applesauce.  For a touch of sweetness, add a little honey (a couple Tablespoons) to the batter before you bake it.  Enjoy!!

4 thoughts on “Healthy Homemade Cornbread mix

  1. Chris Watson says:

    Try cooking it in a cast iron skillet – start the skillet in the oven (empty at your 425 for about 30 min), pull it out, add the batter, and return it to the oven. You’ll have a much finer crust.

    • Nice! Good to know. I don’t have a cast iron skillet. I remember someone gave me a nice cast iron pot for a wedding gift, but having never been taught to cook I didn’t know the value of it. When I found it still unused in my cabinet a year later I gave it away. Gave away my food processor too. I regret both those moves, but at least it made someone else very happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

