Baby feet for Christmas!


image

I saw this idea online and didn’t find a tutorial, but going off the photo decided to try my hand at it myself since I have my own little diapered cutie pie right now.  So, basically what I did was inked the bottom of his feet, and stamped them on the plate (where I figured would roughly be appropriate) and designed around them.

The rest of the design is done with colored permanent markers (sharpie is good).  Once satisfied, I baked the plate in my oven for 40 minutes on 350.  The only drawback or obstacle I’ve found is that the inkpad ink didn’t adhese and become permanent too.  I’m not sure how to make look “footprinted” and permanent, so if you have any ideas let me know! (And yes, I tried using sharpie on his foot but it didn’t work and after I thought about it was a terrible idea all around!) 

Aside from that, I am really excited to give it to my parents for christmas!

image

Let me know if you try this and how it works out!

7 thoughts on “Baby feet for Christmas!

  1. Danielle says:

    Using ceramic or acrylic-enamel paint will do the trick! You can paint their feet with it then stamp them to the plate. You can also paint the plate instead of using sharpie if you wanted to! I learned this the hard way by using regular acrylic paint and realizing after baking it wasn’t going to stay so I was lazy and just did a clear coat of acrylic enamel over it then baked it. But if you use ceramic or acrylic-enamel paint from the beginning it turns out as good as possible for an at home project and is more permanent!! Hope this helps!!!

    • Sorry took me so long to reply Eva! I bought the plate at dollar tree, it’s ceramic I think. Just an FYI, I learned on another project similar to this, when I baked it the ink from the colored sharpie markers actually faded to shades of gray. So I had to go back over it with the markers after I had baked it, and then I just sealed the plate with a spray seal finish. I got it in the spray paint section at Walmart. Not dishwasher or microwave safe. But sure makes a precious memory!!!

  2. Jill says:

    I’m trying it now. I used acrylic paint and painted the bottom of my babies foot for the foot prints. Not sure if the paint will bake on like the sharpie but I have it in the oven now 🙂

Leave a Reply

