Up cycle old pieces w a little mixey matchy


So, given that I have been terribly delinquent about writing on this here blog, I scrolled through my pictures to see what I could post and found this picture of an outfit that I put together yesterday. I always love to go through my closet and try to find new ways to make old clothes look like its never been worn! (Or at least not together!)

Here is something I decided on because I was having a “fat day”, you know, just that time when things are a little more bloated than normal and nothing fits cute. 😣 So I picked this loosefitting polka dotted tank top with a black tank top layered underneath it, my red jeans, some boots since it’s still a little chilly here, a scarf to complement my jeans while not competing with my shirt, and a casual sweater over top of it. I wanted a sweater that was cool toned, since my jeans and my scarf were such contrasting warm tone colors.

I believe very firmly in blending warm and cool tones at the same time. If you have primarily warm toned colors In your outfit, such as red, Orange, yellow, brown, gold, then you want to balance it with some cool colors, like blue, green, white, silver, something along those lines. This includes jewelry also. If your outfit is primarily warm tones, then throw in some cool tones for jewelry. I did that here by putting my gold earrings against my gray sweater, And my black and silver ring against my red jeans and red scarf. This is also specifically why I picked my gray sweater, since the reds in my outfit were such strong colors.

Also, when it comes to mixing patterns, (if you are so inclined to take such risks! 😳) the trick is to have a pattern that distinguishes itself, and one that can fade into the background. One that is maybe a busy print and one that is a simple print, or a large print with a small print. I did this with my tank top and my scarf. My tank top is the busy print that I wanted to be obvious, and the plaid in my scarf is easily disguised.

And of course every outfit in the cooler months is more complete with a great set of boots. 👏😘

I will list for you where I got everything but most is past season stuff, so I do apologize if I’m not much help. 😔

Sweater- Target 2011
Scarf- Ross??
Both tank tops- Ross
Red jeans- Rue 21 2012, after Christmas
Boots- downtown L.A. Street vendor 2011
Jewelry- body central

20130323-020936.jpg

Leave a Reply

