Mixing black and brown, stripes, plaid


20130326-154315.jpg

Here is another outfit I put together today for going to the “farm at the fair” w my sons class. I thought boots and plaid would be fitting! I didn’t plan on a scarf but it was so cold I threw this one on and was relieved it matched!

So, when you want to mix black and brown, gold and silver, go for it!! It falls under the rule of balancing warms with cools and vice versa. Here I have a lot f warmth in the outfit (brown plaid, yellow shirt, brown leather) so I intentionally threw on the silver earrings and black/silver ring, and later added the grey and white striped scarf. The cools balance the warms and make it more aesthetically appealing.

I am convinced the scarf can go w the plaid shirt bc the stripes are subtle and not bold. Remember, when mixing patterns, they can’t both compete for center stage. One must be subtle while the other is bold.

There ya have it! Can’t see too well but the boots are a black/brown leather. Makes them great to wear with either color.

20130326-154523.jpg

20130326-154548.jpg

Leave a Reply

