Pt 1 of 2 end of year classroom treats on a budget


With end of the year fun comes lots of little treats needing to be made for classroom friends and end-of-the-year parties. I have two kids in school , both with birthdays this month too, ironically enough! So, since I feel like I always have to scour Pinterest for ideas for stuff, here is the inspiration for this project, though mine is a different twist. Here

Ingredients:
-sandwich ziplock baggies
-pretzels
-gummy worms
-marshmallows
-yarn to tie things off
-tags
-marker

Lets get started…

20130514-132224.jpg

If you have an eager helper, put them to work using their counting skills to count out the gummy worms and marshmallows! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜˜

20130514-132235.jpg

20130514-132245.jpg

Now, lean the sweet goodies to one side and zip the zipper, then tie with yarn in the middle of the Baggie so you will have a vague butterfly shape.

20130514-132256.jpg

20130514-132307.jpg

Insert carefully the pretzels until the other side is completely full and zip the Baggie completely.

20130514-132328.jpg

TA DA!!! Butterfly treat!!! Now, finish making how many you need and prep the labels…

20130514-132335.jpg

Now thankfully I lucked out, and had one of these scrapbook kits on hand, and it so happened to have just enough sticker labels for my goodie bags. So I labeled them, and tied them onto the baggies rather than using them as stickers. I had to come up with something witty to write on them in order to tie in butterflies, and thankfully, I felt, came up w something cute. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ
They say “This summer “butter-fly” by so I can see you again soon!”

20130514-133901.jpg

20130514-132359.jpg

20130514-132414.jpg

Once your labels are made, tie them onto the baggies, and send them to class!! I also purchased these great water bottles at the dollar tree dollar store, which have a remove able snack cup on the bottom!! The snacks were also all purchased at the dollar store, making this butterfly project cost under $5 for the entire thing. (12 classmates). I hope this helped!! Post any great ideas you had too! I will have many more years of this ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

