Orange Julius skinny protein smoothie


I recently discovered a new favorite smoothie recipe! I work out, and so I try to eat protein shakes frequently throughout the week, and I’m always looking for a new recipe that doesn’t TASTE like a protein smoothie. This one is a winner!! And, in honor of Memorial day, I used my festive American Flag cup. 🙂 Onto the smoothie…

This particular smoothie tastes like the classic Orange Julius drinks, or, for those who don’t know what that is, like your childhood favorite orange-dreamsickle popsickles! dreamsickle

 

It is soooo good, I’ve been having one every day for like two weeks now! And, even better, it doesn’t require a ton of ingredients. Now, there are a variety of ways you could do this. I add protein powder to mine, as well as grapeseed oil (you can add any kind of plant-based oil for belly flattening help- only 1 TBSP though!) And, I use natural sweetener and fat free milk to keep it light, but here is the basic gist for what will make a dreamsickle-y smoothie:

 

Basic Ingredients:

-1 Cup Orange juice

-1/4 cup milk to cream it up

-1 tsp vanilla flavor

-sugar to taste

-icecubes to thickness desired. (more ice, thicker smoothie. Less ice, more straw-friendly)

 

My recipe:

-1 cup orange juice

-1/4 cup fat free lactose free milk

-generous splash of vanilla flavoring

-3 to 4 packets (I like mine sweet!!) of Truvia, Pure Via, some other natural sweetener. Agave syrup is great too!

-Most of a scoop of vanilla protein powder.

-1 Tbsp grapeseed oil (at your grocery store on the oil aisle), or coconut oil. Most of these oils are under $6.

-1.5 cups ice-cubes (I like mine thicker)

 

20130527-103444.jpg

Leave a Reply

